top of page
  • Dr. Paromita Mukherjee

The Path of New Wisdom


 

The venerable path ahead beckons my soul

I could withhold myself no more

I was so done with mundane life

I wanted to soar beyond earthly strife

I seek my salvation on the open road

Silk route - melting pot of east and west

Bringing to the world the very best

Merchants, monks, fortune seekersvagabonds, rural and urban dwellerstraversing from India, China to gorgeous Mediterraneanenabling development of multitudinous civilizations

The bustling road providing succour

To my weary soul

Resting at night under the glimmering constellations

The road gleaming like the robe of fair maidens

I let go of my tiresome burdens

I revel in the pristine shimmering light

Drinking to my heart’s fill this verdant sight

The earth stretched its arms wide

Letting me swirl in the cheerful notes

Of this public road

The conversations of fellow merchants and others

Ebbing and rising as sure as the tides

I willingly pause, contemplate intently

There was so much to catch upon

From the stories that swirled around

From faraway lands of the Chinese, Persians, Somalis,Greeks, Syrians, Romans, Armenians, Indians and Bactrian

The manmade lines dissolve in my mind

East, west, north, south in my heart combined

I accept their beauty and the roughness

Their philosophy and religious diversities

In this surreal route with pregnant clouds above

The brawny landscapes and rippling waters

I have found kernel of happiness floating in open air

It melts into me charging my soul

That was earlier hanging threadbare

This exchange of ideas, languages, new inventions,

From lands known and unknown enriches me daily

I suspend willingly all apprehensions

I embrace all this knowledge

More precious than words can tell

I carry back with me

Vignettes of cities and lands that I pass

Through selling my wares on this route

I leave a part of me in faraway lands too

On this grand road all differences melt

I give every bit of me to this road

Joining, my comrades of the road

In silent harmony.

 

 

 Bio


Dr Paromita Mukherjee, Associate Professor,Visakhapatnam, is a voracious reader, passionate painter/crafter, philanthropist. A participating author/poet of more than forty national /International short story and poetry anthologies. Winner of multiple literary contests. Participated and presented more than 21 research papers on Literature/HR/ Cultural Studies. Book of poetry titled ‘Sylvan Fragrance’ available on all major online platforms. 

Twitter Handle- @paromita2906

 

 

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page