top of page
  • Concetta Pipia

A Merchant’s Tale


I travel on my camel, through the sands so fine,

on the Silk Road, my journey

does entwine.

I carry goods so precious, silks

 and spices too,

from the East to the West, my

 trade I must endure.

 

The desert is harsh, but my

 trusted camel is strong,

through the scorching heat, we journey along.

We pass ancient ruins and caravans so grand,

A reminder of the past, of a

Bustling land.

 

The stars at night, they light my way,

guiding me through the dark night and day.

I think of Xi’an, home, and my loved ones there,

But my duty calls, and I must repair.

 

The Silk Road is long and my journey is hard,

but the rewards are great, a merchant’s card.

I’ll trade with merchants, in cities far and near,

and bring back riches, for all to cheer.

 

I’ve seen wonders, on my journey here,

the Great Wall and the Himalayas so dear.

I’ve met people from lands so diverse, and learned of their customs,

and their diverse verse.

 

But now my journey comes to an end,

And I'll return home, to my family and friends.

I’ll tell them of my tales of the

Silk Road so grand,

And all the wonders that I have

Encountered in this land.

 

The journey was long, and the

Road was rough,

But my camel and I, we’ve had

Enough.

And though I’ll miss the road,

And all its charm,

I’ll be back again, to trade and to

Arm.


Bio.


Concetta Pipia, JD, is the founder of the Aspiring Writers’ Society and the AWS e-zine where she is co-editor of same. Ms. Pipia has been published in both prose and poetry anthologies, in an e-online literary publication, Different Truths, and has received several Certificates of Participation from The Fertile Brains (an international group of poets and writers). She is published in Brahmand, Vol. 2, an e-magazine for creative writing, and in The Pine Cone Review’s special Issue – SURVIVAL 2022. She is an alumna of Parsons School of Design, Touro University School of Law and University of Phoenix (remote).

 

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page