top of page
  • Alpana Issar

The Ancient Silk Route.


 

I have known you before too 

Maybe in another life time.

Known you for your intense gaze 

And that faraway look.

You'd always said,

Blue was the colour of infinity.

Blue was also that gave you an identity.

Sapphires, turquoise and lapiz azul, 

Rule your mind's sensibility today.

The gems you set in the jewels you create

Are the very hues 

That you chose to create the weaves 

In our past life.

We weft together then.

I was your apprentice,

Your lover, and

Your mate.

I knew the threads of weaving 

You were the magician 

Who created the larger than life looms.

When you set for your tours across the Hindukush to the lands of abundance,

You left me behind to keep the spinning  going. 

On your return, after months 

You brought with you beads of silver and gold.

It was after you had sold all of that we had created together. 

Sometimes,

you returned with cinnamon, saffron and cardamoms.

The spices that ruled my heart and hearth.

 

I would worry and fret then also

When my imaginations 

Ran amok with thoughts  about thieves and dacoits taking you captive. 

 

If I had known we'd meet again 

In other life times

I would have imagined creatively and not lost my mind to fear.

 

Today your eyes speak differently with me. 

Blue as the deep lakes of our land.

They tell of your fearlessness. 

It's like you have slain the demons of the past and stand before me 

Victorious.

 

 

Bio


Alpana Issar-

Alpana finds writing and sharing her poems via the written word very fulfilling as she is able to express herself to a larger readership. From her teenage years, she has written and contributed to the institution journals and later, towards the community newsletters & magazines.

A few of her poems have been published in a couple of anthologies edited by Dr Roopali Sircar Gaur &Dr Anita Nahal.

 

 

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page