top of page
  • Maurice Corlett

Viking

Maurice Corlett


I am a Viking.

There's no doubt about it as

when I was young I had

blonde hair and blue eyes

now I am grey but the eyes

the eyes have stayed blue

like my father’s hair that

was fair until the end.

I know that I am a Viking

because my long dead grandfather

came from the Isle Of Man - a small

island in the middle of the Irish Sea -

apparently he died young with TB

and used to sit out the back in a

revolving chair so that he

could follow the sun. He had

run away to sea because he

didn’t get on with his step-father

and served all his time in the

Royal Navy where he was

infected by the disease that killed him

when his son was only a lad who

had to help bring up the family that

existed on a government pension

because the navy wouldn’t grant

him one. But they made it through.

I am a Viking because I saw dad

who has been dead for ages

in the chair at Renee’s when I

was reading her book on norse

mythology and how Thor had slain

the dragon with his mighty hammer

that reminded me of the one that I

have in the shed that I put a new

handle on that is now handy for

anything that needs bashing.

I am a Viking as I like looking out

from the Australian shore and wish that

I was floating while boating on the sea.




Maurice Corlett was born and raised on the Sussex coast of England. This is a locale that has inspired some of his early work. Aged 18 he traveled in Europe, working for a time in

Gibraltar, near Spain. At age 20 he journeyed Overland to Australia with his mate, Michael ‘Mick’ Booker. When they arrived in Sydney they stayed in El Dorado Lodge where he met Lynette Johnstone. As man and wife they toured Europe in a delivery van. Coming back to Australia expecting their first child. And the rest as they say is history.

Photo by Terra Roro on Unsplash

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page