top of page
  • Roopali Sircar Gaur, Ph.D.

When I Die

When I Die

If it is Summer

then bury me under a mango tree

where its deep green leaves will

keep cool the stilled heat inside of me.


In winter bury me in the warm sunlight beside the Guava tree.

I will hear the parrots trill a song and feel the fall of a pecked pulpy guava from the shady green tree.


In the monsoons when it pours rain out of the dark blue clouds

lay me to rest under the vast spread of the purple jamun tree.


In Spring when the grass

blooms flowers and the butterfly unwraps itself from

the fragrant lemon leaf

then put me to sleep deep inside the colour sprinkled

Earth.


I shall return to my Maker

baked in brown clay

I will breathe his divine breath

again and live another day.



Bio


A poet , editor, writer and academic Dr Roopali Sircar Gaur taught English Literature at Delhi University and Creative writing at The Indira Gandhi National Open University.

Her areas of interest are women, gender, ageing, violence, cinema, and military families.

She has edited four international poetry anthologies and contributed to several . She is consulting editor and travel columnist for Different Truths a prestigious ejournal , poetry editor for Aspiring Writers Society and mentor to Fertile Brains. Dr Roopali lives with her military spouse in Meerut. They have 3 rescued dogs.






















0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why ?

bottom of page