top of page
  • Meenakshi Mohan

The Mirror and Me

I smiled,

the mirror smiled at me –

a naïve dimple deepened,

to hold the stars and the moons.


I laughed,

and the mirror laughed with me –

the spring spattered different hues.

My childhood had returned.


Mischievously,

I frowned.

The mirror glared at me.

Horrified, I

saw the lines of age, worries, and sickness.


With a smile

I erased those dark frowns

and my eyes scintillated

luminous sparks.


My familiar dimples reappeared.


I was a child again!


Meenakshi Mohan

Bio:


Dr. Meenakshi Mohan is an internationally published writer, scholar, art critic, children’s writer, painter, and poet. She has been listed twice in the Who is Who Among American Teachers. She is on the editorial Committee for Inquiry in Education, a peer-reviewed journal published by National Louis University, Chicago, Illinois. She is nominated for January 2021 as an Artist of the Month by DCSAACI (DC South Asian Arts Council, Inc.) She has been featured several times in the local journals in the Maryland area. She is a recipient of The Panorama International Literature Festival Award 2022 for her writing.




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why ?

Twins

bottom of page