top of page
  • Kamna Singh

The Corner House

Passing through the market

Something weird I saw..

Not the shaven Hercules

Not even the crow that can’t caw.


A house stood silently

At the corner of the street..

Questions did strike my brain but

No one was there to entreat.


My interest was created

To grasp information about it..

Mainly the sylvan window

Visible only a little bit.


The window seemed haunting

‘Cause of some odd sketch it hold..

Due to black in color

The sketch made it very bold.


I moved a bit ahead

To gather few of the information..

My interest deepen in it

With public’s interpretation.


As I moved towards the house

In order to open the gate..

A lady shouted from the back

Seemed to have a high weight.


She hurried to reach me

Told me, ‘with black magic

The house is enchanted,

Going in, will cause some tragic.’


At first I hesitated but then

I ignored and moved on..

In this time of transition

The fat lady was gone.


The wooden main door

Stood with a model of galley..

I entered the house

And passed through the alley.


I felt myself as a journalist

Forced by myself in abyss..

At the end of my way

I found a plant of tris.


As I was about to step

On the marbled staircase..

I heard some voice then

I peeped and saw a face.


I was clear that few corrupted people

Haunted this place with their tricks..

Made people frightened and

Laid the enchanting bricks.


Bio :


Kamna Singh is a graduate in English Language. She is a bilingual poetess. Her poems has been published in many books and she has also contributed in the World Book of Records (London) for the official attempt of 1111 poets.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page