top of page
  • Garry Spooner

Rambling Of A Poet’s Mind

Where do they come from these words in my

head?

Who put them there and what things were

said? 

Words fall in line like a sentence of speech, 

Which once written down will further their

reach.


Allow me to ramble to speak from the heart, 

Aways remember that words can be art. 

Alight on my verse and give ear to my voice, 

Accept all my flaws, but do so by choice.


Sigh as you read and dream from my writing, 

Say them out loud; I invite your reciting, 

Savour each word set to meter and rhyme, 

So too as you write, keep your rhythm in time.


This is the couplet which comes at the end, 

Thank you for reading, my poem dear friend .



Bio


Garry Spooner is a poet and musician from New Zealand, with an interest in writing which is quite unusual,as he dropped out of high school without any academic qualifications.

Coming to writing later in life, he has enjoyed writing in several different styles.

This piece is a fourteen line structured poem, consisting of three quatrozains and a couplet and each part starting with the same letter in each line. Published works include:

Emerging words ( Rangitawa publishing ) and volumes 2 and 3 of Our United Voices (available on Amazon books).



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why ?

bottom of page