top of page
  • Zahra Ahmed

My Relationship

What if it made me cry?

What if it made me sad?

I want to remember the happiness it gave.

Innumerable smiles it gave

Countless laughs it gave.

Numerous dreams it gave.

Multitudinous opportunities it gave provided the needed warmth.

Its multifarious activity distracted me from all pain.

Implications of its words were manifold.

And it became the elixir of my life.

They say you shouldn’t water a dead flower.

But no, my flower is not dead. It is in full bloom which transforms empty rooms into

vibrant flower filled spaces.

Its fragrance enchants and mesmerises all.

What if it is sometimes scathingly harsh?

Invoking all emotions is what binds any relation and makes us human.

A fairy-tale relationship is not real.

Why should I remove myself from it if it hurts me, drains me or stresses me?

Did it not also love me, replenish me, give me peace?

What if we have different viewpoints, different experiences?

Healthy dissent is always good.

Moreover, who fights or disagrees with strangers?

Don’t we all hurt the one who is closest to our heart?

So, I need it today to help me through this day.

Sinister silence kills me.

Give me another chance is all I want to say.

I’ll never lose hope my dear heart

as I believe in miracle.

I am not afraid to get up again, try again, live again and to dream again and save it.

‘It’ is ‘My relationship’.



Bio


Zahra Ahmad is pursuing MA English from Patna Women’s College (Autonomous). She has experience of managing and teaching at a high school. She authored ‘My Stories’ vol. 1 and II, which had an introduction by Bollywood film director Imtiyaz Ali. The books became part of regular curriculum for few years for primary classes in around ten schools of Bihar. Her articles have been published in local magazines and international journals. She has presented research papers at international and national conferences. Her recent publication includes poems in Setu Magazine, ISSN 2475-1359 and a research paper in Criterion Journal, ISSN 0976-8165 and JETIR ISSN 2349-5162


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page