top of page
  • Carolyn Slovitz

The Yume Tribal Council, The Old Man of Heaven and, The Changeling Raven

Carolyn Slovitz

Not so long ago in the land of blue ice and magical Northern Lights, three elderly, shivering members of the Yume Tribal Council gathered inside an ancestral ceremonial tipi in the village Ikuka, Alaska. They met once a week to conduct a ritual talking circle and catch up on gossip in the village. These aged men, the last faithful members of their honorable tribe, devoted their final days on earth to the preservation of old Yume tribal legends. And so, these simple, elderly men dutifully kept their proud Indian traditions alive in the 21st Century.

The tribal council, Chief Hauuk, Kaa, The Eldest Elder, and Ikku, The Wise, sat most uncomfortably on the frigid earthen floor. The small struggling fire in the center of the tipi produced much fragrant smoke that escaped through the smoke hole, but did not warm their cold bones. They squirmed this way and that to find an easy sitting position. The dignity of folding their legs beneath them, as they did before stiffened legs refused to bend properly, was gone. Old muscles and bones were much appreciated for their usefulness anyway. So, they sat around the reluctant fire, as best they could, wrapped from head to toe in bearskin coverings.


“On this FREEZING early morning,” Chief Hauuk grumbled, “What is urgent enough on the coldest day of the year that we must meet in the talking circle to hear a frivolous irate complaint? I ask you Kaa, The Eldest Elder, why do angry problems not visit us on warm pleasant days?”

“I know not, but it is true.” Kaa, The Eldest Elder, quavered, “It seems the deeper the snow, the colder the wind blowing down our necks…the more problems we find.”

Chief Hauuk shook his head in full agreement, “Who is possibly ill-considered enough to make a complaint on this raw dreadful day of all days?”


Kaa, The Eldest Elder shuddered, “The Changeling Raven is the only one I know half-witted enough to stir up discontent today.” His voice rose high in a shrill quivering explosion of anxious words, “He lodged a serious complaint. I hardly dare speak of it to you. It is unthinkable!”

Chief Hauuk said, “As your chief, Kaa, The Eldest Elder, it would be wise to know this distressing complaint. Take out the vast courage you hide in your backside pocket and tell me The Changeling Raven’s grievance before my temper is verily tested.” Kaa, The Eldest Elder’s voice quivered, “Yes, brave chief. It is my displeasure to inform you that,” he halted his speech briefly to inhale fearlessness, “The Changeling Raven accuses our revered Creator of GREED!” Ikku, The Wise, nodded his head in accordance. He squinted his eyes deep in thought and spoke aloud in scant whispers, “My brothers, I heard with my own ears that The Changeling Raven further announced The Old Man of Heaven’s greed caused mankind relentless pain and suffering. Do not be unduly disturbed. We know the charge is untruthful.”

Chief Hauuk shook his finger vigorously, “How dare The Changeling Raven challenge, The Old Man of Heaven? Our Maker is above reproach. He, the giver of life, blew breath into our lungs. His warm love sustains us moment by moment.”

Ikku, The Wise, again whispered faintly, “We know as well as you The Changeling Raven’s accusation is preposterous. But we are obligated to hear his complaint.”

Kaa, The Eldest Elder, trembled, “Yes...yes. Yes, we must hear the complaint today without delay,according to tribal law.”


Chief Hauuk, clenched his fists, “Ah, but I know, The Changeling Raven is not to be trusted.” He threw off his warm fur, stood, and paced slowly inside the small, unbearably cold tipi, “I’ve seen his insidious tricks. He is a clever con artist. Be on your guard.” The chief shrugged his drooping shoulders as he sat again in the talking circle. He wrapped the bearskin covering around his body and said, “Nevertheless, though we know, The Changeling Raven is unsavory, our tribal customs must be followed. Let us prepare for the summoning. Bring my ceremonial headdress. I must be properly attired to lead. I am Chief of the Yume Indian Tribe. My caribou headdress is my symbol of power.”

Kaa, The Eldest Elder, and Ikku, The Wise, with great effort, threw off their warm bearskin coverings and walked unsteadily, but solemnly, to the keeping trunk behind the old black cooking pot to retrieve Chief Hauuk’s headdress.

Several Yume artifacts were stored in the keeping trunk; a small grey shaman healing rattle in grave disrepair, a broken blue and white feathered talking stick, and the chief’s remarkable Yume Ceremonial Caribou Headdress. Only last year the council crafted Chief Hauuk’s headdress. They tied caribou antlers Ikku, The Wise, found on a side road to the village, onto Chief Hauuk’s brown winter fur hat. It looked splendid. But the wide antlers were too big to wear inside the small tipi. The chief regretfully whittled the majestic antlers small. Even so, the ceremonial headdress remained elegant.

Chief Hauuk entered deep meditation beside the fire. He sat, as crossed legged as he could manage, with his capable hands folded in repose. He calmed his spirit to meet, The Old Man of Heaven and The Changeling Raven.


Kaa, The Eldest Elder, and Ikku, The Wise, brought forth the exalted Yume Ceremonial Caribou Headdress and fitted it to Chief Hauuk’s worthy head. Then they resumed their virtuous positions inside the talking circle. Chief Hauuk chanted rhythmically into the burning fire’s flickering red flames, “We preservers of Yume tradition respectfully call for The Old Man of Heaven and The Changeling Raven to come before us.”


Presently, delicate clouds of pale smoke gracefully danced inside the tipi as The Old Man of Heaven obligingly materialized. Soon after, The Changeling Raven discourteously barged through the ceremonial tipi’s entryway and presented himself.

Chief Hauuk respectfully nodded his head in acknowledgment to both, The Old Man of Heaven and The Changeling Raven. He asked, “Who shall be first to speak?” The Changeling Raven cawed, “Me. Me.” He perched himself precariously on top of the old overturned black cooking pot so he might appear more prominent inside the tipi. He shook his wings and spoke, “Truthfully, I only want to be honored as The Creator of Light.” Chief Hauuk smacked his hands together, “Raven you are a vicious liar and depraved cheat. We know you had nothing to do with creation!”

With that statement, The Changeling Raven hopped about on top of the overturned black cooking pot and screeched, “Oh. Without me, do not forget you would still be stumbling in the dark.” The unruly raven boastfully stuck out his chest and fluttered his wings. “You who sit in judgment today,do you not remember the legends of old which you so highly honor?”

Do you not recall stories of, The Great Darkness? I tell you true words, for I was a witness. The tales speak of a tremendous blackness without light after creation. It was this deed of selfishness, The Old Man of Heaven must answer. He greedily withdrew light from human kind to suffer in the murky gloom of night.” The Changeling Raven pleased with his glorious speech, gloated, “Ahh. The world then was in chaotic darkness. Each day I continually injured my head on objects around me. Deep unknown ditches swallowed me whole as I wandered aimlessly through the forest. I painfully crashed into tops of trees while flying. My body was hungry for food I could not find, and thirsty for water I could not see. But most of all, no one could look upon my beautiful, black gleaming feathers and admire me.”

All three council members exploded with laughter as they muttered, “The Changeling Raven never changed! He still loves only himself.”

The Changeling Raven shouted in his bird-like voice, “Quiet, I am speaking. Listen well.

One angry day I flew beyond the sky and found, The Old Man of Heaven’s lodging. I desired he unleash light into the world. I knew my words would never convince him, therefore, I spied upon him through a small crack in the corner of his tipi. That is how I discovered his secret. The Old Man of Heaven kept the jewel of light, a golden glass orb, underneath his bed. Before he slept, I watched as he removed the glass orb, admired it in his hands a moment, and placed it under his bed again. Soon after he slept,I pulled on my invisible shadow, squeezed through the open crack, and entered his tipi. Carefully, I retrieved the glass orb by holding it safely in my shadow’s bill and flew home.


On my flight from heaven, as I discarded my shadow, the small glass orb of light slipped from my beak and fell. As it fell, the sun, moon, and stars escaped. Thus, so I gave light to the world.”


The Old Man of Heaven then stood tall and dignified before the tribal council. He said, “Quiet Raven, now I shall speak.”

He smiled, “My loving people, do not believe all this silly creature tells you. I created humanity perfect in all ways, though not identical. By design, I pigmented the outer skin of humankind with tints of brown, red, white, and yellow. I also gave glorious light so they might see their delightfulness as well as the beauty of others. All too soon, I saw a critical weakness in my creations. They had no tolerance for their brothers and sisters of different skin tints.” He sighed deeply, “I could allow no disfavor among new humankind. Their immature souls had much to learn. In my wisdom I knew understanding and tolerance would grow only inside the equality of darkness. So, I withdrew my glistening light and condensed it into a small glass orb. The light in my safekeeping was kept ready for the day when humanity recognized true equality. The Changeling Raven altered my Grand Plan. His foolishness halted humanity’s progress. Each race of people believed themselves more intelligent, more beautiful, and more worthy.”

The Old Man of Heaven bowed his head. He said, “I tell you heinous racial prejudice tainted the pure souls of humankind. My creations fought, enslaved, and killed one another.” Sounds of deep grief welled up within The Old Man of Heaven as he spoke. “The extreme insanity of wars, slavery, and genocide occurred as humans attempted to prove their superiority.


Among all people in today's modern world, I hear offensive language used to incite brutality in the name of equality. There is no corner of the world where my beloved live peacefully.” He shook his head from side to side and cried, “Oh humanity, have you not learned?” Great tears of sorrow fell from his eyes. “There is no love and there is no honor in hatred.”

The Old Man of Heaven gently wiped his eyes. “Esteemed Council, I see deeply within your souls, and I have renewed hope. Great hope. You carry immense love within your hearts. I see your smallest thoughts. I note the caring gestures you make towards all others. These things are good signs. My heart rejoices.”

The Old Man of Heaven spread his strong arms wide, “My beloved, you must continue to work with earnest dedication and overcome The Changeling Raven’s evil action.” Gracefully, he bowed before the honorable Yume Tribal Council, “I have no more words.” Chief Hauuk said, “My brothers, we have fairly heard both sides of the issue at hand. Who do you believe? Is…The Changeling Raven, The Creator of Light? Did…The Old Man of Heaven withhold light from humanity and commit greed?"

"We shall vote. All those who believe, The Changeling Raven is honorable and should rightfully bear the title, Creator of Light, put forward your hand in agreement.”

No one moved. Loud clacking tongues broke the moment’s silence as the tribal council demonstrated revulsion of The Changeling Raven. He received no votes.

Chief Hauuk again said, “All those who believe The Old Man of Heaven is free of greed, put forward your hand in agreement.” All council members smiled as their hands joyfully rose in favor of their Creator.


Chief Hauuk bowed before the council, “With your permission, I will speak the judgement.” Members of the tribal council nodded in satisfied agreement. Chief Hauuk continued, “You, The Changeling Raven, are a devilish troublemaker, and a fraudulent liar. Selfishly you thought of yourself only and caused humankind unbearable suffering. You stole the glass orb of light and accidentally dropped it from heaven. You are not, The Creator of Light."

"We judge you most unworthy of respect. Storytellers of this time will tell of you to children, and they will speak accounts of you to their children and their children’s children. These vivid stories will reveal how you shamefully tricked humankind. These tales will depict you as a foolish buffoon. We laugh at you now in disrespect, and our fore-bearers will laugh at you in the future.”

Chief Hauuk clapped his hands, “This instant, I command you to change into a lowly creeping worm. Crawl away from us. We banish you. Begone!”

In the blink of an eye, The Changeling Raven appeared as a small brown worm. It quickly slithered across the earthen floor and out of sight. Kaa, The Eldest Elder, solemnly removed his fur covering and stood before, The Old Man of Heaven. He quavered, “Our Creator, we honor you and sincerely pray for wisdom.” Ikku, The Wise, also solemnly removed his fur covering and stood before The Old Man of Heaven. He whispered aloud, “Our loving Creator, we truly ask for your guidance. Lead us in our actions to help humanity.”


Chief Hauuk solemnly removed his fur coverings as well. Humbly he put away his elegant headdress and stood before The Old Man of Heaven. He said, “Forgive us All-Powerful-One for our pitiful ignorance.We are grievously sorry.” In unison the tribal council reverently bowed low before the feet of their Creator. The Old Man of Heaven said, “Rise up so I may bless you.” The three elderly men rose quietly.


The Old Man of Heaven tenderly blessed Chief Hauuk, Kaa, The Eldest Elder, and Ikku, The Wise, with a holy kiss. “You are my most refined examples of humanity. Your generous hearts and spirits are pure. I love you. I guide you with wisdom. I forgive you.”


Immediately after the Creator blessed the elderly tribal council, his form vanished from the tipi in a wisp of pale smoke. It traveled lazily up through the smoke hole, beyond the sky, and back to heaven.


Carolyn Slovitz, a graduate of Georgia Southern University, taught young children to write wonderfully creative make-believe stories of their own for many years. Carolyn, now retired, uses her precious free time to write fiction. Her friends and family fans live scattered throughout the USA. from California, to Texas, from New York City, to New Jersey, from Tennessee, to Alabama, and from Georgia to Florida. Widowed now, she lives with her family and is a writer.


Credit: Maria Vojtovicova

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Woman

bottom of page