top of page
  • Chantal Ratnayeke

The Human Automaton


I walk alone in the crowd

Head tall, platinum hair trailing

My face a metallic mask


I walk alone in the crowd. 

Each step a victory

Marching in timely masses


I walk alone in the crowd

Raise my arm upright

A selfie salute against all


I walk alone in the crowd

Clanging steps follow

Involuntarily my pace quickens


I walk alone in the crowd

My clattering breath throbs 

Feet by feet grows the row


I walk alone in the crowd

The patter of an anonymous

Army bangs and brags


I walk alone in the crowd

The raucous stampede 

Is almost on me now 


I walk alone in the crowd

It is too late

To escape my fate



I walk alone in the crowd

For the last time

Multitude bullets shoot


I walk alone in the crowd

The ravenous mob catches

Me in their clutches


I walk among the dead

Gleam in dreams of dull grey

Heaven or cherubic hell


I walk among the crowd

Am I no longer human

My robotic steps march on


I am the crowd

A coil in the machine

We are all robots now




Bio


Chantal Ratnayeke

Poetry is the rainbow lens which I view the world around myself. As a poet, I analyse socio economic problems to provide alternative solutions or narratives. T​​o raise awareness through my poetry about environmental degradation and Human Rights issues.


Presently, as a law graduate who is deeply moved by the adversity faced by different communities in Sri Lanka. My vision is to compile a poetry chapbook on themes of feminism, humanity, anti-racism, redemption and queer possibility. The importance of my discourse is giving the voiceless a voice.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page