top of page
  • Concetta Pipia

Sgt. Lambert's Story and The Greatest Generation

June 6, 1944, Omaha Beach, (Normandy, France)

We were headed onto Omaha Beach and I was glad. After all the

fighting in Africa and Sicily, I just wanted to get this war over with.

It was daylight on the 6th. I went up on deck and found my brother Bill

there. We talked about our chances and what our parents would think.

At 6 AM the signal came to go to station. My brother and I promised

whoever survived would take care of the other's family. And we shook

hands and went our separate ways.

I climbed down the nets and got into the Higgins boat; that was my unit.

On the way in we could hear the battleships firing and see the big shells

landing ahead of us. Guys were getting sick and vomiting from the

choppy waters and the diesel fumes.

As we got in closer, the Germans had a birds-eye view of us coming in.

We picked up machine guns firing; bullets clanged against the metal

ramps of the boat like hell.

Then, the big 8.8s on the hill opened up. Every time a shell whistled

overhead, all you could hear was the sound of a banshee screaming.

Boats were burning all around us. I saw men on fire; even their shoes

were on fire.

Dead and wounded were floating in the water. We had orders not to stop

and pick anyone up. I told my men when the ramp dropped, hit the water

hard and keep as low as you can. We sank up over our heads.


That was the last time I saw most of my men. Thirty-one men jumped

off that boat. Just seven of them made it to the beach. The only cover

was a block of concrete the Germans failed to clear.

That's where I set up a collection point for the casualties. Medics were

trained not to dig in. We were there to see the troops and for them to

see us. I detailed Corporal Raymond Lepeur to hunker down and treat

the men while I brought in the injured.  Ray and I had been together

since 39; I knew I could count on him.

It was total confusion. Shells exploding. Boats blowing up. People

yelling cause they couldn't hear anything. Machine gun bullets hitting

the water all around you and the roar of the boats coming in.

It's like you're all alone in a world of a million people because you're

concentrating on what you have to do.

I hadn't gone far when I felt the bullet go through my right arm. I just

kept goin’. I was thinkin’ of only one thing: getting to the men who

needed me.

There was a soldier layin’ right on the edge of the water. One arm was

almost shot off. Every time a wave came, that arm would be pulled back

out to sea and he'd try to reach for it.

The first thing you're supposed to do is keep a wounded man from goin’

into shock. But he was too far gone; nothing I could do for him. He died

in my arms.


I was on my way to treat another soldier when a piece of shrapnel the

size of my hand tore a hole in my left thigh. I put a tourniquet on it, gave

myself a shot of morphine and went back to work. You did the job you

were trained to do; if you didn't, you died.

I could feel my right arm goin’ numb from the first bullet. Saw a guy

struggling in chest deep water; grabbed him with my good arm just as

the Higgins boat rolled in and dropped its ramp. The ramp hit me right

in the back, crushed two vertebrae and pushed us both to the bottom.

That's when I started talkin’ to the one guy I knew could help. I said,

God, I've asked you many times but just give me another chance. Let

me save one more person.  And, for some reason, that boat raised its

ramp and backed out 

Somehow, I managed to drag his body to safety. I told Corporal Lepeur

he'd have to take my place. He stood up and then he just collapsed

against my shoulder. His helmet fell off and I saw the hole right in the

center. It all went black after that.

The next thing I knew I was on a boat goin’ back to England. The Navy

doctor looked at my dog tags and said, We have another Lambert here.

My brother Bill's stretcher was put right next to mine on the dock at

Weymouth. He'd been on the beach with G Company. We went to the

hospital in the same ambulance 

When I woke up he was on a cot next to mine. He looked over and said,

What&are you doin’ here? Same thing you are I told him. And he said,


Oh God, what's Mother goin’ think. We both made it out okay. Bill

lived to be 92.

People who have never been in a war should understand what soldiers

give up. The guys we left on Omaha Beach never had a chance to live

the lives they dreamed of. A day hasn't gone by when I haven't prayed

for the men we lost and their families.

I still wake up at night sometimes thinkin’ about the guys. Every man

that walked into those machine guns and that artillery fire on Omaha

Beach that day -  Every Man  -  was a hero. What kind of person would I

be if I didn't tell their stories.


 

Backstory


Omaha Beach was the code name for the Allied assault into German

occupied territory in France. It was the largest undertaking during

WWII. Taking Omaha was to be the responsibility of the United States

Army troops, with sea support, mine sweeping, and a naval

bombardment force provided primarily by the United States Navy and

Coast Guard with contributions from the British, Canadian, and Free

French Navies. 1

The combined strength of those men involved in the Assault included

over


51,000 infantry, 2 battleships, 3 cruisers, 13 destroyers, and 1,000+

assorted other vessels. Casualties and losses numbered between 2,000 -

6,200 or more.

While these may seem merely like statistics, they represent the Allied

forces unwavering effort to establish a stronghold on Omaha Beach,

meeting up with the British who were landing to the East; it was

necessary to defeat the Germans; invasion in France and get materials,

artillery, and manpower to infantry soldiers.

As in many battles, very little went as planned. According to reports,

there were difficulties in navigation and German defenses were

unexpectedly strong, inflicting heavy casualties on American forces. By

the end of the day, two small isolated footholds had been won, which

were subsequently exploited against weaker defenses further inland,

achieving the original D-Day objectives over the following days.

Once the beachhead had been secured, Omaha became the location of

one of the two Mulberry harbors, prefabricated artificial harbors towed

in pieces across the English Channel and assembled just offshore.

Construction of Mulberry at Omaha began the day after D-Day with the

scuttling of ships to form a breakwater. By D+10, the harbor became

operational when the first pier was completed; docking and unloading 78

vehicles in 38 minutes.

Three days later the worst storm to hit Normandy in 40 years began to

blow, raging for three days and not abating until the night of June 22.

The harbor was so badly damaged that the decision was taken not to


repair it; supplies subsequently landed directly on the beach until fixed

port facilities were completed. 2

Over the 100 days following D-Day more than 1,000,000 tons of

supplies, 100,000 vehicles and 600,000 men were landed, and 93,000

casualties were evacuated, via Omaha. 3

Present Day


The men who fought, died, and lived during that time were members of

The Greatest Generation. This generation is generally defined as people

born between 1901 and 1927. 4

They were shaped during the deprivations of The Great Depression and

then went on to fight in World War II as well as those whose

productivity within the homefront during WWII made a decisive

material contribution to the war effort. This generation is also part of the

histories of Britain, France, and Germany, among others.

Focusing on the United States, individuals born during this time

experienced economic prosperity with distinctive cultural

transformations. As Tom Brokaw says in his book, The Greatest

Generation, It is, I believe, the greatest generation any society has ever

produced.He argues that these men and women fought not for

fame and recognition but because it was the right thing to do. 5

Sgt. Lambert's story is an example of someone described by Tom

Brokaw. In closing, I would say Sgt. Lambert's story is one of the lucky

ones. It is absolutely incredible that anyone could survive that carnage.


Think of having to run forward, several football fields in distance, across

flat, open sand, subject to grazing and plunging automatic and small

arms, weapons fire, artillery and mortars, with absolutely no cover.

And then, having to scale or otherwise find your way and TAKE

concrete bunkers which towered approximately 15 stories above the

beach! Mind boggling! Cannot imagine how they did it.

God bless them all.

 


Author Bio


Concetta Pipia, JD, is the founder of the Aspiring Writers’ Society and the

AWS e-zine where she is co-editor of same. Ms. Pipia has been published

in both prose and poetry anthologies, in an e-online literary publication,

Different Truths, and has received several Certificates of Participation from

The Fertile Brains (an international group of poets and writers). She is

published in Brahmand, Vol. 2, an e-magazine for creative writing, and in

The Pine Cone Review’s special Issue – SURVIVAL 2022. She is an alumna

of Parsons School of Design, Touro University School of Law and

University of Phoenix (remote).

 


Footnotes


1 Gal Perl Finkel, 75 years from that long day in Normandy – we still

have something to learn, The Jerusalem Post, June 12, 2019.

2 A Harbor Built from Scratch Archived from the original on 2007-12-

03. Retrieved 2007-09-10.


3 Bridge to the Past—Engineers in World War II. US Army Corps of

Engineers. Archived from the original on August 23, 2007. Retrieved

2007-09-11.

4 Is It Time toPass the Torch? The Generational Dilemma of the 2020

Democratic Primary 2019-07-30. Retrieved 22 December 2019.

5 Brokaw, Tom (1998). The greatest generation - Tom Brokaw - Google

Boeken. ISBN 9780375502026. Retrieved December 16, 2013.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page