top of page
  • Madhu Tuli

Conflict and courage

Conflict and courage

Two sides of the same coin

Conflict is born of my lesser self

Fear, anxiety rule me.

In the race of comparison

I win the trophy of jealousy.

My beautiful

self

Lingers on in the depth of my being

Please stop! It says.

I care not.

Trumpet sound of power

Render me deaf to reason

Holding high the banner of fame

Unmindful of stink left behind in its wake

I ride on

Astride my ego


Unshed tears and trampled emotions

Are not for me, to count.


Cheer of victory

die on my lips.

No one around

to raise the toast

with me

mirror images closing in on me

All cheering for themselves

Not for me

Welcome to the world of chaos

And conflict

Disillusioned, yet in love

With my creation

I lack conviction to

Flip the coin

Dejected, I look out

No scapegoat in view

Three fingers turned in

No matter where

or at whom

I point one.

Suffocating

I open the window

To breathe easy

Riding on fresh air

Came Sound of laughter

Infectious and pure

What legacy am I leaving for them

A world devoid of trust and hope?

I flipped the coin.

Holding the courage side up

No more my kind of world.

Somewhere a mirror image

Shattered without a sound

As my inflated ego breathed its last


Bio.


madhu tuli. age 63.

Married to an ex fauji. I am Mother of two sons and a daughter in law and have a granddaughter. I play many roles and in love with each one of them. I believe in the religion of humanism and dignity of life.

English is not my language. I have only composed in Hindi. Two of my poems have been published. AWS has provided a platform to explore and expand my abilities. This is my first attempt at composing a poem on a given topic in English.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page