top of page
  • Tulika Niyogi

A Tiny Miracle

Title- A Tiny Miracle


“Ma! I want a daughter now!” My loving daughter would say quite often! It’s natural for any girl to have a son and a daughter to make the family complete. Her elder son was two years old and she had conceived her second child.


Now it had become a daily routine, she would call from her far away town and first thing she’d ask “ Maaa! Tell naa! Will I have a daughter? Like you talk to Naani (granny) and I talk to you everyday about ‘everything’ under the sky, I also love to have a daughter, who will be my closest!”

I would smile at her desperation and say “ Think so and it will happen so!”

Days and months passed by.


She had only one dream….To have a daughter, who will be her best friend!

Her regular conversations were like…..

“ Ma! Some old relatives in the family saw my tummy and declared confidently that it would be a boy!” Or “ My friend saw a dream that I have two boys!” Or “ Our lady help has predicted that I will have two consecutive sons!” and so on.


I tried my best to assure her that “whatever happens it happens for good”! But nothing would satisfy her!

She started believing in ‘magic’………

During a video call, she showed me wearing a unique gold chain gifted by my mom as she had the desire to have a girl like her granny!


She started chanting some hymns of Lord Ganesha as told by her mom-in-law to keep the faith strong!


Her lifestyle, food habits, everything changed as per the myths and beliefs. (She was a non believer of all such things and never took anything so seriously!)


A line came to my mind I read somewhere…..

“Birth- Destiny -Marriage can only be predicted by God!”


I prayed that her dream must come true!

Finally The D Day arrived!


We were all outside the OT. She laughed and did thumbs up to express her confidence!


She must have guessed something, or premonition!!! I guessed!!!


Her mom-in-law held my hands and said “ I wish her wishes are fulfilled! She should have a daughter who will be our Princess!”


I could see her moist eyes. She was also expecting a miracle like me!


We were waiting anxiously in the lobby and all of a sudden there was a shrill cry inside and the OT door opened wide. The nurse came out with a baby wrapped in a pink woollen blanket!


“It’s a girl”, she said with a big smile!

Baby “MIRAANYA” was there with amazing brown eyes and the prettiest face! Our angel…. Our bundle of joy!

I did my homework long before and had googled the name, which was unique, uncommon and indeed the meaning was - “The Princess"!


The Magic did happen!!!

“When you want something deeply, all the Universe conspires in helping you to achieve it !” A quote I always believed in!

And So did my daughter!





Bio:


 A Chemistry Post Graduate with over 15 year's experience in education

 A defence background, working with young minds

 A versatile individual with the talent and passion for music, dance, art and choreography

 An enthusiastic and dedicated educator who has a vast experience of working with variety of NGOs and educational institutions

 Love for poetry/articles with few publications on international platforms to her credit

 Presently working as a coordinator and Delhi state facilitator for SPIC MACAY ( Society for the Promotion of Indian Classical Music And Culture Amongst Youth), a voluntary youth movement

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page